Interview with Martina Desiree

20130601-222735.jpg

I have something new and different for you on my blog today and I am super excited about it!! I recently got the chance to interview a young musician, Martina Desiree. I am so glad that I got the chance to get to know this girl and pick her brain a little bit.

Not only does she song some great music, she is so involved in helping people, and bringing light to painful subjects. To learn more, check out my interview with her!

How long have you been a musician?

I posted my first cover on youtube 3 ½ years ago. I was smiling and giggling the whole time! Haha J But music has always been something that I really loved. I have been playing instruments and writing music way before I became “public.”

What is your favorite instrument that you play?

Guitar is the instrument I have the most experience on, but I feel the different instruments express different feelings, so I love them all ❤ I play the guitar, piano, violin, and ukulele.

Who has been your biggest influence?

My wonderful mom and sister! They are such amazing and beautiful women. I strive to be like them! They are my super heroes!

Where do you get the inspiration for the songs that you write?

Personal experience mostly and that is why I love it! It gives me a chance to let out all the emotions that I feel. Sometimes it is my personal reflection other times my music is based off of situations that I see my friends/people go through.

What is your favorite song that you have written?

One of my favorite songs that I have posted is my Anti-Bullying/Anti-Abuse song “How Many Times”

What advice do you have for other young musicians?

Play your heart out and keep at it! I know it helps me so much to be able to express myself in music. J

What kind of music do you typically listen to?

I listen to all types of music! It really depends on my mood— Mumford and Sons, Never shout never, Icona pop, Macklemore, Miranda Lambert, The Killers and so many, many more! I pretty much always have music playing all throughout the day! J

Favorite band?

Like above I have so many different types of music that I can’t really choose.

Favorite song?

I have so many!! Music expresses all kinds of emotions and it depends on what I want to hear. My most played song is Mr. Brightside by The Killers (Acoustic Version)

If you could sing with one person, who would it be?

Renne Yohe!! Singer of Bearcat! (Check them out!) She is one of my inspirations! The organization To Write Love On Her Arms (non-profit organization that presents hope for people struggling with addiction, depression, self injury, and thoughts of suicide) is based off of her story.

Describe your perfect day.

The perfect day would be having nothing else to do but spend time expressing myself in an art medium- Music, Acrylics, Sculpting, Writing, etc. and spend time with my family! 😀

Favorite ice cream flavor? Chocolate mousse tracks!

Favorite color? Neon Green!!

What is your biggest dream that you hope to accomplish?

I hope to start an organization for the marginalized where people can find help and go on retreats to help find their essence and express themselves! To let people know that there is HOPE!

What has been the most exciting thing that has happened in your music career?

Releasing my EP “Just A Girl And Her Guitar” on 12-12-12 at 12:00pm! You can check it out here: http://martina-desiree.bandcamp.com/

I have heard you go on many mission trips. What has been the most rewarding event that has come from these?

Experiencing love from the people that I serve and realizing that anything that you do, small or large, DOES make a difference, even if it is in one person’s life.

Is there a place you have been on a mission trip that you are dying to revisit?

Puerto Rico! I will be serving there at a soup kitchen and homeless organization and at a house for abused woman and children again this summer! I cannot wait!

Aside from mission trips, how else are you trying to make a difference?

Ah! I am so happy that you asked! I have started this new project that I am VERY excited about! I have been very active in trying to spread awareness for Suicide Prevention, Self Injury, Anti-Bullying. I will be putting on a Concert Benefit for To Write Love On Her Arms this fall! I am very excited!

What can you tell me about your suicide prevention and awareness campaign?
Yes! Right now, the issues that teens and people in general go through is not really a hot topic. I want to spread awareness and let people know that they ARE NOT alone! I have started a tumblr account: http://findingyouressence.tumblr.com/ . This blog is me, trying to make a difference! I post things about discovering yourself, defeating depression, self- injury and low self-esteem. I post little projects/challenges and written entries. I am glad to get this started and I hope that it grows into a community and shows people they are NOT alone. J

Any last words or thoughts you want to leave us with?

Please Join The Campaign! I will be posting exciting things and ways that you can help make a difference at the following places:
http://findingyouressence.tumblr.com/
https://www.facebook.com/MartinaDesiree
http://www.youtube.com/martinadesireemusic

I would love to hear from you!

If you can come to the OUT OF THE DARKNESS OVERNIGHT WALK! I am very pleased that the American Foundation for Suicide Prevention is hosting their annual overnight walk here in the nation’s capital! June 1-2! I will be volunteering at the event and really hope to see you there! If not, still make sure to check out their website! http://www.afsp.org/

Also if you are a musician and would like to play at the Benefit this fall please PM me with a demo of your music.

If you will be on the East Coast this fall, and would like to hear more information on the Benefit please PM me and I can put you on my mailing list.

Please help spread the word! And always know that you can contact me personally. I love meeting new people 🙂

You can find Martina here: Facebook , YouTube

Check out Martina’s music and spread the word about her! I think this girl is going to do amazing things!!

20130601-222807.jpg

20130601-222825.jpg

20130601-222840.jpg

Leave a Reply

