Author Spotlight Lisa Hobman

Today I am featuring debut author Lisa Hobman!  Her novel, Bridge Over the Atlantic just released on April 4th and it looks really good!  She has been sweet enough to let me pick her brain!

Momof2: How did you know that you wanted to write?

Lisa: When we relocated to Scotland I started to write a blog and really enjoyed it.  I decided that maybe this was something I could do more of!  And I’d had an idea for a story in my head for while but never had the time before.  It seemed like the perfect time.

Momof2: That’s great that you finally found the time to try something new! What have been the biggest motivators for you?

Lisa: My beta readers and my family have been amazing through the whole process.  Very encouraging and wiling to read what I’d written.  They always gave me honest opinions and spurred me on.

Momof2: I would think that having a strong support system would be very important in the process.  I have done a little beta reading and I love the rewarding feeling of helping an author!  What has been the biggest obstacle you have had to overcome?

Lisa: The whole thing has been a learning curve.  I think I really had to overcome a lack of confidence in my own abilities the most.

Momof2: Hopefully that will get easier in time!  How did you come up with the idea for Bridge Over the Atlantic?

Lisa: Scotland is a very important place to me and the whole area lends itself to romance.  We’d visited the area where the story is set and fell in love with the place.  The story began there really as a tiny seed of an idea.

Momof2:  I would love to visit Scotland one day!  I actually have a little bit of Scottish in my heritage.  How long did it take you to complete Bridge Over the Atlantic?

Lisa: It’s taken just short of a year to get to the point where the book was published but I wrote pretty much full time for six months to finish the initial manuscript.

Momof2:  That sounds like a pretty impressive timeline!  You’re a natural! How did it feel to have your first book published?

Lisa: Oh wow!  Just incredible!  In fact there are days when I don’t think it’s quite sunk in even now!

Momof2:  I can’t imagine!  You should be very proud of yourself on this monumental accomplishment!  How did you celebrate when you completed your first book?

Lisa:  My husband and I travelled up to the Highlands to spend some time in the area where the story is set.  We visited the places I talk about in the book.  It was very romantic.  I am celebrating the publishing with a party though!

Momof2:  That sounds like the perfect celebration!  What’s your next project?

Lisa: My second novel, which is now contracted too (and I can’t even begin to tell you how exciting that is!) is a love story again.  This time it’s got some twists and turns and a bit of suspense!

Momof2: Ooooh!  I can’t wait to hear more about it! What is your ideal writing environment?

Lisa: I usually sit at my dining table with my laptop.  But on colder days I light the log burner and sit curled up on the couch with my laptop on my knee.  It plays havoc with my neck though!

Momof2: If I had a fireplace, that would probably be my favorite spot to blog.  Do you have a playlist for Bridge Over the Atlantic?

Lisa: I do!  Music features quite heavily in the book.  I am very much into music and my tastes are quite eclectic.  I have had some nice comments about the music that’s in there too which is lovely.

Momof2: I’m the same way with music.  It’s amazing how much cleaner my house gets if I whip out the iPod!  Do you get dressed to write?

Lisa: Ha ha!  Not always!  I have been known to sit in my jim-jams!

Momof2: I swear if I could just live in my jammies I would! Aside from being an author, what are your interests?

Lisa: I just adore music.  I used to be a singer so music is very close to my heart.  I also love crafts.  I enjoy making things and being creative in general.

Momof2:  Ha!  The most singing I do is a little karaoke.  I do love to craft though. What are some of your quirks?

Lisa: I am terribly untidy!  My husband tends to follow me around and pick up after me all the mess I leave in my wake!

Momof2: That’s hilarious!  When you leave the house, what are 5 things you always have with you?

Lisa: Mobile phone, lipstick, purse, jacket (you never know when it will rain in Scotland!) and keys!

Momof2: Who is your favorite author?

Lisa: Oh my…there really are too many for me to just narrow it down to one!  Nope…can’t narrow that one down!

Momof2: I think my favorite authors change on a weekly basis. What advice would you give to an aspiring author?

Lisa: Stick with it and learn how to present a manuscript.  Presentation is key when getting a publishers attention.

Momof2: Great advice!  Do you sleep with socks on?

Lisa: No.  I get very warm and usually end up outside of the covers.

Momof2: I sometimes sleep with socks on.  I have to admit though, they are my favorite article of clothing!  Favorite ice cream flavor?

Lisa: Mint choc chip always!

Momof2: I like plain vanilla myself! Coffee or tea?

Lisa: Usually tea except for weekend mornings or if I am drinking in a place that does a good latte.

Momof2: I am a coffee-holic.  Me without coffee is not a pretty sight.  Any pets?

Lisa: Two totally crazy dogs.  Total opposites to look at.  One is huge and one is little.  One is black and one is white.  But both are crazy.  But very loveable.

Momof2:  I only have one dog.  She is crazy! Best childhood memory?

Lisa: Holidaying with my parents.  We used to go to a little seaside town on the East coast of Yorkshire and play on the beach.  Such lovely times.

Momof2: What a sweet memory!

 

So earlier I mentioned that Lisa’s novel came out on April 4th.  Check out this amazing book!

 

????????????????

Isn’t it a fun cover?

Book Blurb:

Mallory Westerman is a full-figured, successful, young business woman living in Yorkshire, England. Though very career minded, she is extremely self-conscious about her ample curves and so her love life tends to pay the price. Concentrating solely on her business, she has almost given up on finding someone to love. That is until she literally trips into the arms of a stranger who becomes her Knight in shining armour. The immediate sexual and romantic spark that blossoms into love and the events that follow, irrevocably change Mallory’s life-path and self-image forever, but only go to prove that the road to true love is never smooth and that things don’t always turn out how you expect…
Buy links:
LisaJHobmanColWebsize (2) 
About the Author:
Lisa is a happily married Mum of one with two crazy dogs.  She especially enjoys being creative; has worked as a singer and now writes almost full time! In 2012 Lisa and her family relocated from Yorkshire, England to their beloved Scotland; a place of happy holidays and memories for them.  Writing has always been something Lisa has enjoyed, although in the past it has centered on poetry and song lyrics. Some of which appear in her stories. The story in her debut novel, Bridge Over the Atlantic, has been building in her mind for a long while but until the move, she never had the time to put it down in black and white; working full time as a High School Science Learning Mentor and studying swallowed up any spare time she had.  Making the move north of the border has given Lisa the opportunity to spread her wings and fulfill her dream.  Writing is now a deep passion and she has enjoyed every minute of working towards being published.  Lisa is working with a wonderful editor who is a best selling author in her own right.  Novel number two is now complete and currently with Lisa’s Beta Readers; three and four are works in progress so watch this space!
Stalker Links:
I just want to say thank you to Lisa Hobman for taking the time to participate on my blog today!  Can’t wait to read your debut novel!!
One thought on “Author Spotlight Lisa Hobman

Leave a Reply

